Board & Staff

AFM Board Members

Dr. Roger Bate, PhD is a Legatum Fellow in Global Prosperity at the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research and a widely published scholar on international aid policy, development and the political economy of disease control. Dr. Bate served as AFM's Chairman of the Board from 2003 to 2006.

Lance Laifer is co-founder of Hedge Funds vs. Malaria & Pneumonia, Dunk Malaria, the International Fast Day Against Malaria, and Madness Against Malaria, the world's first bracketed competitive philanthropy tournament. Mr. Laifer conceptualized and helps manage the Malaria Free Zone project of the Free Africa Foundation and works closely with Africa Fighting Malaria, Malaria No More and the Malaria Foundation on advocacy and awareness issues affecting malaria.

Gerry Ohrstrom is a private investor and non-executive chairman of The Ohrstrom Foundation, Inc. He is a director of various companies and nonprofit organizations, including the Reason Foundation, the Property and Environment Research Center, the International Policy Network, and the American Council on Science and Health. Gerry is a member of the President's Council at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and of the New York Academy of Science and has been a board member of AFM since 2007.

Dr. Donald Roberts, PhD is a Professor Emeritus of Tropical Public Health at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, Maryland. His long and distinguished career includes the publication of over 100 of peer reviewed research papers on malaria and other insect borne diseases and he has conducted innovative research on the action of chemicals for use in malaria control. He has been a Board member of AFM since 2003.

Richard Tren, MSc has been the Director of AFM since its inception in 2000, and in 2006 was appointed as the Chairman of the AFM Board. Richard is South African, though he moved to AFM's Washington, DC office in January 2006. He has published widely on the political economy of malaria control as well as on other topics of healthcare and development.

AFM Staff

Kimberly Hess, MPH has been working as a researcher and editor for AFM since 2007.  She completed her MPH in International Health Promotion from The George Washington University in 2007.  She has worked as a Medical Technologist and Clinical Research Assistant and is a returned Peace Corps volunteer.

Lorraine Mooney, MSc has been working with AFM since 2004 as a researcher, editor, economist and medical demographer. She writes research papers and editorials on a variety of public health issues. Previously she ran the European Science and Environment Forum, an educational charity, for 10 years, latterly as director.

Jasson Urbach, MSc has been working with AFM since 2003. He is currently AFM's Southern Africa Director, as well as an economist with the Free Market Foundation. He publishes academic and popular opinion pieces on the political economy of malaria control and various business and economics topics. He is based in Durban, South Africa.

To learn more about who we are, please also read about our Mission, Funding, and Annual Reports, or Contact Us.